Next weekend, Dustin Crotinger and myself will be taking part in a Kairos Torch prison ministry event at the Topeka Juvenile Correctional Facility. It is a really amazing weekend where the JO’s learn about themselves, about forgiveness, and about Jesus.  I will be leading the music next weekend, with just me and my guitar. I’ve done it before, but never by myself, so it will be interesting to see how they respond to the songs. I think I’ve got some good ones picked out, hopefully some that they will really be able to connect to and learn quickly. Usually, you have them for 10-15 minutes and you can do around 3 songs each time. There is maybe 3 or 4 times for these short sets on Sat. and Sunday, so it’s important to have them get comfortable with the music quickly and hopefully it doesn’t take long for some keeper songs to rise to the top.

This is a little different crowd so song selection has to be thought out well. You don’t want to start out with the really personal intimate songs right away, because that’s just not where all of them are at. But at the same time you don’t want a song that doesn’t really say anything either, because this is a great chance to put some truth in their hearts. I like songs that teach them some truth about God, is accessible, and is quickly learned. We will have a theme song for the weekend called “He Knows My Name” which goes along great with one of the messages of the weekend. It is a slower type song but has a great message. Here are the lyrics:

I have a Maker
He formed my heart
Before even time began
My life was in his hands
I have a Father
He calls me His own
He’ll never leave me
No matter where I go

He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
And He hears me when I call

