I love to read. It’s strange though, because I almost always read non-fiction books. Novels are great, and I don’t really know why I don’t read them more, because I love a good story as much as the next, but for some reason I will get some topic in my head and then I have to go buy 3 or 4 books about that subject and learn about it.  That has been the case again as I have gotten back into the lead worshipper role at NLWC.  This month’s topic: worship.

I have been intrigued by this one before. I’ve read books by Matt Redman, Tim Hughes, David Crowder, and Louie Giglio.  Those books helped me to understand that worship is so much more than what we do on Sunday mornings.  All excellent reads indeed.

I’ve read books dealing with the practical side of leading worship. A bunch by Tom Kraeuter, “Things They Didn’t Teach Me in Worship Leading School“, (lucky for me, I never went to worship leading school, oh wait, that’s part of the joke of the title, there are schools for that now though) “Keys to Becoming an Effective Worship Leader“, and “Developing an Effective Worship Ministry” all gave me some good pointers and direction in how to lead a worship team and probably helped me to avoid a few pitfalls along the way.

But I’m reading one now that I’m not even finished with yet, and I would have to say it is way up there on the list, if not at the top. It is called Worship Matters and was written by Bob Kauflin, director of worship development for Sovereign Grace Ministries.

This book has the best combination of theological depth and practical advice for those interested in what worship is all about that I have read so far.  One of the most interesting parts of the book  has been in Part Two where he asks, So What Does a Worship Leader Do? He answers this question with a personal mission statement that says,

“A faithful worship leader magnifies the greatness of God in Jesus Christ through the power of the Holy Spirit skillfully combining God’s Word with music, thereby motivating the gathered church to proclaim the gospel, to cherish God’s presence, and to live for God’s glory.”

Over the next 11 chapters, he then breaks down each part of that statement going over each thought in more detail.  Each chapter is short enough that you can read it easily in 15 minutes or less, giving you the opportunity to read a little here and there and not always have to pick up the book and start in the middle of the author’s train of thought.

So yes, Worship Matters, great book, everyone on the worship team should read it. Along with this, and this. Read those alot.

