This post is a little different from past Songs for Sunday because we had church this morning.  So it is coming from an “after service” perspective.

The songs we sang this week were:

Made to Worship

He is Exalted

I Stand Amazed in the Presence (How Marvelous)

Rescuer

The Wonderful Cross

The highlight for me was the theme of redemption that ran through the entire service this morning.  Charles Gabriel wrote the hymn I Stand Amazed and in it he paints a beautiful picture of Christ’s redemptive act of love from the cross.  In the first verse it says “and wonder how He could love me, a sinner, condemned, unclean.” How many times do we come to church just beaten down by our sins from the past week and we feel so unworthy, so unclean, and then we come into the presence of our Lord. Like Isaiah when he saw the Lord high and exalted on His throne, he said “Woe to me! I am ruined. For I am a man of unclean lips and my eyes have seen the King.” But in Isaiah’s vision the seraph then flies to him with a live coal, touches his lips, and says “See this has touched your lips, your guilt is taken away.” In the same way Christ bore our sin with Him on Calvary, and he paid the price of sin for us when he died on the cross. The second verse of I Stand Amazed describes this when it says:

He took my sin and sorrow

He made them His very own

He bore the burden to Calvary

And suffered and died alone

How amazing is that? Sometimes our concept of grace is that God simply looks past our sin, but in reality a very real price was paid for our sin, because it had to. The Son, Jesus Christ, was obedient to death, even death on a cross! The chorus of the song then becomes a heart cry of praise:

How Marvelous, How Wonderful

And my song shall ever be

How Marvelous, How Wonderful

Is my Saviors love for me.

Great time of worship this morning, and may it carry on to the next day, and the next…

