He Reigns

Glory in the Highest

Heart of Worship

How Can I Keep from Singing

O Worship the King

I’m really excited for this time of worship as it has been awhile since I have led. I’m really looking forward to playing again with Paula, Jack, Linda, and Matthew, and can’t wait to see what God is going to do in us and through us. Exciting stuff!

Well, for this weeks worship set, I decided to review a pattern of choosing songs based off of some comments made by Brenton Brown in the Vineyard Worship Resources DVD “Leading Worship“.  He uses a liturgy of sorts for choosing songs based on a Call to Worship, Praise songs, Engagement or Petition songs, and Response. I might go over each one of these areas in detail in later posts, but for now let’s focus on the Engagement or Petition songs.

This is where our worship gets personal, where we ask God questions, where we pour ourselves out to Him. Brenton says that when we fail to sing songs that connect us with God we can feel like God is not aware of our needs. God is aware of our needs, but if all the songs in our set are about God’s majesty, or sovereignty, or His power, we can start to feel like God is too big to care about us.

So this week, I decided to go with the very familiar “Heart of Worship” for that Engagement song.  It is sung from a “Person to God” standpoint and really wraps up what I think corporate and personal worship is about.

“I’m coming back to the heart of worship, and it’s all about you, it’s all about you, Jesus.”

Col. 1:17  He is before all things, and in him all things hold together.

